Skip to main content

12th Biennial Carolina Biophysics Symposium

Welcome!  The 12th Biennial North Carolina Biophysics Symposium will be held November 9th and 10th in Chapel Hill, North Carolina.  A central goal of the symposium is to bring together North Carolina Biophysicists and this year’s meeting is being organized and sponsored by NC State, Duke, UNC, Wake Forest, and the NIEHS. The meeting will include sessions focused on cellular biophysics and live cell imaging, protein and nucleic acid interactions, proteins at the membrane, and extracellular/intracellular matrix. We look forward to seeing you at the meeting!

Abstract submission deadline extended to October 16, 2023.

Registration for the conference is open until November 3, 2023.

Register here


Confirmed Speakers for the 12th Biennial Meeting

Cellular Biophysics and Live Cell Imaging
  • Caroline Laplante (NC State)
  • Lisa Racki (Scripps)
  • Joe Rodriguez (NIEHS)
  • Kevin Slep (UNC)
  • Richard Superfine (UNC)
Protein – Nucleic Acid Interactions
  • Kirill Afonin (UNC Charlotte)
  • Traci Hall (NIEHS)
  • Sharonda LeBlanc (NC State)
  • Robert McGinty (UNC)
  • Hong Wang (NC State)
Proteins at the Membrane
  • Rick Baker (UNC)
  • Karen Fleming (Johns Hopkins)
  • Seok-Yong Lee (Duke)
  • Jeanne Stachowiak (University of Texas)
  • Huanghe Yang (Duke)
Extracellular/intracellular Matrix
  • Mary Elting (NC State)
  • Martin Guthold (Wake Forest)
  • Jack Linehan (UNC)
  • Jim Sellers (NIH)
  • David Sherwood (Duke)